Celebrating the Lunar New Year at OTA

In honor of the Lunar New Year, members of the OTA staff got together for a celebration sharing traditional foods. Senior members also gave out red envelopes with money to send good wishes and luck for a prosperous and happy year.

“Online Trading Academy is such a diverse workplace," says OTA’s Social Media Manager Joanne Ngo. “We celebrate all kinds of holidays and traditions here, and I’m glad Lunar New Year can be one of them since it’s my favorite holiday.”  

IT’s Quality Assurance Manager Jimmy Ho adds,”It's time for family. To me OTA is not just a place to work but we are a family. Wishing you good health and lasting prosperity this New Year.”

The Lunar New Year—also known as the Spring Festival or Chinese New Year—is celebrated by more than 20% of people around the world. In fact, it is the most significant holiday for Chinese people all over. Other countries such as Japan, Vietnam and North and South Korea celebrate as well, and refer to it as the Lunar New Year.

The Lunar New Year always falls on the second new moon after the winter solstice. This year it was Saturday, January 25th. The date changes based on the lunar calendar instead of the Gregorian calendar which is based on the earth’s orbit around the sun.

The Spring festival was originally a day set aside to pray to the gods for a good planting and harvest season. It was also a day to fight off monsters—hence firecrackers—which were intended to drive back the mythical beast Nian.

Every new year has a zodiac animal. Just like the Western horoscopes, there are 12 Chinese zodiacs. But the animal is for the entire year, not each month. This year is the year of the rat. Your animal can play a role in your career, health and relationship success. So which Chinese Zodiac sign are you?

  • Rat: 2008, 1996, 1984, 1972, 1960
  • Ox: 2009, 1997, 1985, 1973, 1961
  • Tiger: 2010, 1998, 1986, 1974, 1962
  • Rabbit: 2011, 1999, 1987, 1975, 1963
  • Dragon: 2012, 2000, 1988, 1976, 1964
  • Snake: 2013, 2001, 1989, 1977, 1965
  • Horse: 2014, 2002, 1990, 1978, 1966
  • Sheep: 2015, 2003, 1991, 1979, 1967
  • Monkey: 2016, 2004, 1992, 1980, 1968
  • Rooster: 2017, 2005, 1993, 1981, 1969
  • Dog: 2018, 2006, 1994, 1982, 1970
  • Pig: 2019, 2007, 1995, 1983, 1971